Roasted Moroccan carrots with chickpeas

There’s something about Moroccan spices that utterly intrigues me. I think it reminds me of some of my favorite dishes from my trip to Egypt. Roasted Moroccan carrots with chickpeasWhatever it is, I’ve been on a North African cuisine kick lately, which is why, when I found this recipe for roasted Moroccan carrots on Delicious Everyday blog, I knew I had to try it.

Now I don’t like to toot my own horn when it comes to my culinary adventures. I like to see how everyone else trying my dishes reacts. But I have to say, I took one bite of these carrots, and I was blown away.

I tweaked the original recipe to just focus on the roasted carrots and chickpeas, rather than turn this into a salad with spinach and arugula. But if you’d like to add a little bit of green to the dish, feel free to serve the following carrot and chickpea mixture over your salad greens.

ROASTED MOROCCAN CARROTS WITH CHICKPEAS
Servings: 4

Ingredients:
12 small carrots, peeled and quartered
1 red onion, peeled and chopped into eighths
½ lemon, quartered
2 teaspoons smoked sweet paprika
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 clove of garlic, grated
Salt, to taste
1 14-ounce can of chickpeas, drained
⅓ cup dates, halved and finely diced
1 tablespoon slivered almonds, toasted

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
  2. Place the carrots, red onion, and lemon in a bowl along with the spices, olive oil, salt, and garlic. Toss well to coat evenly.
  3. Spread the carrot mixture evenly on a baking tray and roast for 25 to 30 minutes, or until tender and slightly caramelized.
  4. When cool, add the chickpeas and toss well to coat in the spiced oil.
  5. If you’d like to add greens, place spinach and arugula in a serving bowl or platter and top with the carrots and chickpeas, or simply place the carrots and chickpeas on the platter alone.
  6. Sprinkle with dates and the slivered almonds and serve!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This dish looks wonderful! I love chickpeas, but had never thought about combining with carpets – so this is definitely a recipe I’ll have to try out. If you have a minute, I’d love your thoughts on my chickpea dish 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/09/04/vegan-bonanaza-vegan-mofo-3/

    Like

Leave a Reply

