Grill 23 & Bar in Boston’s Back Bay

Grill 23_1I’m not a big steakhouse fan. Don’t get me wrong: I love a good steak. But when it comes to trying new places to eat, I usually don’t head to a fancy spot to get a steak.

So when my dear friend Kristen let me know she was going to be in Boston for a couple of days and was in the mood for some steak, I decided to take her to Grill 23 & Bar in the Back Bay area of Boston. I’d heard great things about this place, so it was about time I tried it for myself.

Grill 23 is definitely a fancy spot to dine at. It’s exactly what you think of when you imagine a really nice steak restaurant: white table linens, sparkling wine glasses, dark oak paneling everywhere, and leather chairs outlined in gold trim. Kristen and I loved it.

Grill 23_2Our waiter was phenomenal and had recommendations for everything from our wine selection to what type of steak we should order. We decided to start with a classic Caesar salad with garlic butter croutons and parmigiano reggiano. It was simple. It was classy. It was perfect.

We then moved on to our main meal. After a strong case presented by our waiter, we chose the 100 Day-Aged Prime Ribeye and the Dry-Aged Prime New York. Our sides included the ruby red beets with honey, horseradish, and dill, and Grill 23 tots topped with sea salt and truffle oil.

As I said before, I’m not a big steak person, but the ribeye was amazing. I couldn’t have asked for a more juicy, delicious steak. And the sides were great accompaniments: the beets were tart and sweet at the same time and the tots were potato-y balls of heaven.

All in all, Kristen and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and would definitely return. If you’re in the mood for a classy evening of fancy decor, Grill 23 is a great choice. The final bill may be a bit pricy, but your overall experience will be well worth it.

Leave a Reply

