Apple cranberry sage bites

Cranberry apple sage bitesEvery Memorial Day weekend, my parents host a bunch of their friends and my siblings and I at their house in PA. There’s a lot of BBQing, a lot of booze, and a lot of fun. This Memorial Day, my mom put me in charge of appetizers. So I pulled out my Pinterest arsenal to see what I should make. Along with a few strombolis and a taco dip, I decided to make these apple cranberry sage bites.

I originally made them for Christmas this year, and everyone loved them, so I knew they were a winner. You can serve this sweet and savory relish either warm or cold (I personally like it warm better) with a light shaving of parmesan cheese on top. Fair warning: These mini snacks WILL go quickly, so have extra crackers and relish on hand ready to replenish your platter.

Happy eating!

APPLE CRANBERRY SAGE BITES
Servings: About 24 bites

Ingredients:
1 large red onion, minced
4 medium apples, chopped
¼ cup fresh chopped sage
2 tablespoons olive oil
⅓ cup dried cranberries
Kosher salt
Shaved parmesan cheese
Crackers, bread, or pita wedges for serving (I use Wheat Thins)

Directions:

  1. Mince 1 cup of red onion. Core 4 apples and chop them into bite-sized chunks. Chop the sage.
  2. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the red onion and saute for 2 to 3 minutes, until softened.
  3. Add the apple, sage, and dried cranberries. Cover and cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the apples are soft.
  4. Remove the skillet from the heat. Allow to cool slightly, and add a bit of kosher salt to taste.
  5. Serve over crackers or bread, garnished with shaved Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

