Curried chicken salad

on

Curried chicken saladThose that know me know my true loves (and I’m not talking about Doug). These loves include cheese, ice cream, sushi (not all at once, of course) … and chicken salad and the Barefoot Contessa can’t be forgotten either.

When I was thinking about my next recipe to post, I realized I have never shared one of my truly favorite Barefoot Contessa recipes—and one of my all-time favorite recipes period: curried chicken salad.

For those that love chicken salad like me, this recipe takes it to a completely different level. It envelopes the chicken in a rich curry sauce, and incorporates raisins or currants (my personal fav) and cashews.

I promise that after you take one bite, you won’t go back to your traditional (aka boring) chicken salad recipe again.

CURRIED CHICKEN SALAD
Servings: 6

Ingredients:
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Kosher salt
1½ cups mayonnaise
1/3 cup dry white wine
¼ cup chutney
3 tablespoons curry powder
1 cup medium-diced celery
¼ cup chopped scallions, white and green parts
¼ cup raisins (or currants)
1 cup whole roasted, salted cashews

Directions:

  1. Poach your chicken breast in water or chicken broth (Barefoot Contessa roasts bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts with olive oil, salt, and pepper, but I’m not as fancy as her).
  2. Dice the chicken (however you want to prepare it) into large bite-size pieces.
  3. For the dressing, combine the mayonnaise, wine, chutney, curry powder, and 1½ teaspoons of salt in the bowl of a food processor. Process until smooth.
  4. Combine the chicken with enough dressing to moisten well. Add the celery, scallions, and raisins (or currants), and mix well.
  5. Refrigerate for a few hours to allow the flavors to blend.
  6. Add the cashews and serve at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

